HIST 300 - Shannon - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress

American Folklife Collection

American Folklife Center Digital Collection
"Digital collections generally contain photographs, audio recordings, and manuscript materials such as field notes or logs for recordings and photos. Note that in many cases the full collection is not online, and in order to access some materials-such as administrative records for projects-you would need to visit the AFC Research Center."

Lomax Recordings on CD

A Treasury of Library of Congress Field Recordings

trea/ 13182 CD

The Complete Plantation Recordings: The Historic 1941-1942 Library of Congress Field Recordings

mudd /16335 CD (also available in streaming)

American Fiddles Tunes

amer / 14576 CD

Library of Congress Recordings / Woody Guthrie

guth /10086 CD

Negro Work Songs

negr / 14473 CD | (also available in streaming)

*Additional recordings by Alan Lomax are available on the Library of Congress website

Digital Collections

Alan Lomax Collection (Library of Congress, Digital Collections)
"This presentation contains more than 500,000 pages of Alan Lomax’s personal papers and office files from his time at the Library of Congress (1932-1942) and from his post-Library career through the 1990s. Featured are Lomax’s writing projects such as Land Where the Blues Began (1993), the unpublished Big Ballad Book, as well as documentation of his extensive work in radio for the CBS and BBC networks. Also included are thousands of pages of field notes and correspondence associated with his field projects beginning in the 1930s." - Library of Congress
Lomax Family Collections (American Folklife Center)
You may be interested in the "Iconic Song List" and "Lomax Bibliography," which are included on the site.
Lomax Sound Recordings Catalog (Association for Cultural Equity)
"The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. In addition to a wide spectrum of musical performances from around the world, it includes stories, jokes, sermons, personal narratives, interviews conducted by Lomax and his associates, and unique ambient artifacts captured in transit from radio broadcasts, sometimes inadvertently, when Alan left the tape machine running."

Some recordings are also available on the Association for Cultural Equity's "Global Jukebox."

The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography

Volumes in the Library Collection

The American Slave: A Composite Autobiopgrahy (19 volumes)
Call Number: E444 .A45 1972 v.1-19
ISBN: 0837133149
Publication Date: 1972
The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography: Supplement 1, Series 1 by George P. Rawick (Editor); Kenneth L. Burg; Jan Hillegas; Jules Rawick
Call Number: E444 .A45 suppl. 1 v.1-12
ISBN: 0837197562
Publication Date: 1978
The American Slave - A Composite Autobiography (Supplement 2) v.1-10 by George P. Rawick; Che Rawick; Jules Rawick
Call Number: E444 .A45 suppl. 2 v.3-10
ISBN: 0313214239
Publication Date: 1980
Index to the American Slave by Donald M. Jacobs
Call Number: E444 .A45 Suppl. 3
ISBN: 0313213747
Publication Date: 1981

Index
STARKE, ROSA 3.4, 147-50) = Series 1, vol. 3, pt. 4, pg. 147
A Comprehensive Name Index for the American Slave by Howard E. Potts
Call Number: E444 .A45 Suppl. 4
ISBN: 0313292043
Publication Date: 1997

Name index.
14A, 49 = page 49 in the first half of vol. 14
04S = 4th volume in Supplement, Series 1
04T = 4th volume in Supplement, Series 2

Library of Congress Digital Collection

Born into Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 (Library of Congress)

Completed in 2000, the Library of Congress has digitized copies of the original narratives, as well as 700 original photos. The photos and supplmental materials are not included in the Greenwood press volumes.

Report of the Joint Select Committee to Inquire into the Condition of Affairs in Late Insurrectionary States

Special Collections & College Archives

Report of the Joint select committee to inquire into the condition of affairs in the late insurrectionary states by United States. Congress. Joint Select Committee on the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States.
Call Number: Special Collections (Civil War) E668 .U5
Publication Date: 1872
The print volumes are available in Special Collections. Special Collections (4th floor) is open:
M, Th, F: 1-5 pm
T, W,: 1-5 pm, 6-9 pm

Digital Copies

Volumes 1-13 available via HathTrust.org
The volume numbering is slightly off on this record, but the University of Michigan volumes are the complete series. 0001 = v.1

Primary Sources in MUSCAT Plus

Some primary source materials can be found by searching MUSCAT Plus , the library catalog, using a keyword or subject search.

First try a KEYWORD search which searches all words in the titles, authors, subjects, and notes of MUSCAT Plus records. You can enter words in any order. This is the broadest, safest search. Take note of Subject Headings on promising titles.
Next try a SUBJECT search with the subject headings from the keyword search. T
Finally try an AUTHOR search to find original writings of a person or documents published by a government or organization

Examine the subject headings carefully. The following subheadings will help you identify books that contain primary sources. You can even use these with your keyword searches:

--diaries
--correspondence
--sources
--documents

--biographies

--photographs
--posters
--pictorial works
--caricatures and cartoons

--personal narratives
--interviews
--anecdotes
--underground literature

Finding Journal Articles

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.

History: HIST 300 - Shannon

Ask a Librarian