HIST 348 - Birkner - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Primary and Secondary Sources

Visiting Special Collections & College Archives

The following magazines for 1918 are available for your use in Special Collections & College Archives.

Researcher hours are 1-5 pm, Monday-Friday, and 6-9 pm Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Reserve a Researcher Table

You may schedule your visit in advance to have your requested items available and a table reserved for you.

Selected Magazines

Living Age (Littell's)

Outlook

World's Work

Index to Popular Magazines

Readers’ Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on all subjects from approximately 375 general and popular magazines (no scholarly journals), 1890-1982.

Searching and Browsing the Index in Readers' Guide

Select publications
Search by publication
Search within index for publication or browse index by year/issue.

animation showing clicking on publication in readers guide retrospective, selecting publication title, and then year to browse index

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Questions with accessing and using Special Collections?

Carolyn Sautter

Director of Special Collections & College Archives

csautter@gettysburg.edu

Research Help Desk: Tuesdays 9-11 am

Questions about secondary sources and citation?

Clint Baugess

Research & Instruction Librarian

cbaugess@gettysburg.edu

Research Help Desk: Mondays 1-3 pm and Wednesdays 6-10 pm

Citation with Turabian or Chicago Style

The History Department recommends using the Turabian citation style or the Chicago Manual of Style

For more information about citation styles and citation software, see the citation guide.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018, 9th edition
Print copies are available at The Research Help Desk on the library's main level.

The online Turabian Citation Quick Guide page will provide footnote and bibliography examples for commonly cited items (books, book chapters, journal articles, etc.)

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017, 17th edition
A print copy is available at The Research Help Desk on the library's main level. Musselman Library also subscribes to the online edition, which is linked below.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Chicago Manual. Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.

The online Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide provides examples for commonly cited sources in both Author-Date and Notes and Bibliography styles.

History: HIST 348 - Birkner