HIST 431 - Bamba - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Journal Articles

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to approximately 250 journals published by 40 academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Latin American Studies articles covering the regions of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Over 400 journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1967-present.

Additional Indexes to Scholarly Literature

International African Bibliography Online Database (Subscription)
Use the DeGruyter online access. Online database of books, articles, and papers in African Studies published between 1971-present. Search by keyword.
Africana Periodical Literature (africabib.org)
The site consists of five bibliographic databases (Africana Periodical Literature, etc.) for Africana social science titles. Contains the citation only, not the full text. Check against Musselman's holdings.

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Latin American Studies articles covering the regions of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Over 400 journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1967-present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, book chapters, maps and atlases, and electronic resources (blogs, websites, online videos, etc.) dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook is edited and compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Years of coverage: 1935-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters for research on Asia, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to present.

Background Information

Online Collection of Reference Works

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

Specific Titles

International Historical Statistics by B. R. Mitchell
Call Number: Reference - HA155 .M55 2007 v.1-3
ISBN: 9780230005150
Publication Date: 2007
v. 1 The Americas 1750-2005
v. 2 Europe 1750-2005
v. 3 Africa, Asia, Oceania 1750-2005
Population and vital statistics -- Labour force -- Agriculture -- Industry -- External trade -- Transport and communications -- Finance -- Prices -- Education -- National accounts.
Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0195337700
Publication Date: 2010
1300 entries cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1280232668
Publication Date: 2003
Includes over 250 entries on African politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts during the 20th century.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780684314549
Publication Date: 2008
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, online research encyclopedia of peer-reviewed, historiographically-informed articles in all areas of Latin American history. This resource also incorporates multimedia, including images, links, and audiovisual clips, that allow readers to explore in greater depth the richly diverse history and cultures of Latin America.

Encyclopedia of U. S. - Latin American Relations
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780872897625
Examines the dynamic relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America.
Cambridge History of Southeast Asia
Call Number: Online and Book Collection - DS525 .T37 1992
ISBN: 0521355060
vol. 2 the 19th and 20th centuries
Cambridge History of Latin America
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0521340691
Survey of Latin American history from ca. 1500 to the present day
The Cambridge History of Africa
Call Number: Book Collection DT20 .C28 v.1-8
ISBN: 052122215X
Volume 7. From 1905 to 1940 / edited by A.D. Roberts. 1986. Volume 8. From c. 1940 to 1975

Finding Books

Our Library Collection

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

Other Catalogs

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access collections digitized from libraries and research institutions around the world, as well as collections from digital projects like the Internet Archive. Full-text access is available for items in the public domain, including U.S. federal government documents, works published before 1923, and works still protected by copyright but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. The default search is a keyword search. Advanced search is available but you must re-check the "Full view only" option for full-text results.

Digital Collections

Newspapers

African Newspapers, Series 1: 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains 67 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Access English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Rand Daily Mail 1902-1985 This link opens in a new window
News archive provides coverage of South Africa from the Boer Wars to the apartheid era. Published daily in Johannesburg, it was the first African newspaper to openly oppose and contribute to the downfall of apartheid.

South Asian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries)
The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more.

Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full-images of the London Times including articles, editorials and commentary, advertisements, and illustrations/photographs. Archives covers from 1785 to 2019.

Document Collections

Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Includes materials about the liberation and independence movements in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Digital Library
A partnership between the Library of Congress and the UN, the WDL includes primary materials from all countries and cultures.

Adam Matthew Explorer This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.

British Documents on the End of Empire
A series of volumes containing an annotated selection of official documents from the UK National Archives, charting British withdrawal from its colonial territories. Each volume has been edited by a leading scholar in the field of decolonization and each contains a substantial introduction contextualising the collection. Series A: General Volumes. Series B: Country Volumes
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
This collection of files from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Provides a large array of unique documents from multiple archives that captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Content covers the various colonial frontiers of North America plus the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

SALALM Digital Primary Sources
An index of open digital collections for primary source material. Searchable by collection, country, and material format.
UN Digital Library
Includes speeches, reports, press releases, and other documents that may be of interest for a qualitative study.
Gallica
African newspapers are available in Gallica, from the National Library of France.

Declassified Documents

Foreign Relations of the United States
The link above is to a digital collection at the University of Wisconsin. Print volumes are in the book collection at JX233.A3. Divided by year, then geographic region. Some volumes then divided by country.

The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
CIA Electronic Reading Room
The FOIA Electronic Reading Room is provided as a public service by the Office of the Chief Information Officer's Information Management Services. Here you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs.
Coverage: varies
National Security Archive (GWU)
A collection of US government documents received via FOIA requests.
Department of State - FOIA Documents
The Department of State administers information access programs including the Freedom of Information Act, the Privacy Act, and the Mandatory Declassification Review programs. This website provides a wealth of information about the Department’s FOIA program and how to obtain access to the Department’s records, as well as a search tool containing 221,373 searchable documents reviewed and released to the public.

Magazines

Readers’ Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on all subjects from approximately 375 general and popular magazines (no scholarly journals), 1890-1982.

Selected African Magazines

For weekly news coverage from within Africa, the two titles below will be useful. For titles that are housed in Knouse (our off-site storage facility), you can easily request these to be returned to Musselman for you. You can then check them out for 7 days.

To request materials from off-site storage, login to Muscat Plus and click the "request" button on the catalog record.

Jeune Afrique (1974-1998)
This weekly magazine has had multiple title changes over the years. The link above will take you to the search results for all of them. When you click on a title, note the date range represented.

Jeune Afrique has not been indexed in a database. Browsing the print issue during specified date ranges will be your primary mode of access.
Africa Today (Popular News Magazine)
Popular magazine addressing critical issues from the continent of Africa.
Knouse- v.5(1999)-v.14(2008), v.19(2013)

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

If the library doesn't have an item you want, you can request to borrow a copy from another library via our interlibrary loan service.

Articles (PDF) usually arrive within 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days. A book chapter (PDF) may arrive in 1-2 days.

small button with the words Gett It! For articles, use the Gett It button in databases to see if we have access. If not, you will see an option to sign into Muscat Plus and submit your request.

For books and book chapters, search Muscat Plus. If you don't see what you want, click "search other libraries" and then submit your request with the "request from other libraries" link on the results page. Or, you can use the interlibrary loan form at the top of Muscat Plus.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library website.

History: HIST 431 - Bamba

Questions?

Citation