Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 106-1 Are you Smart?

The Research Process

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

To see have more request options and to see all results, sign in with Muscat Plus before searching.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

Distinguishing Among Source Types (video, 5 mins.)
What are the differences among different types of sources--from scholarly and popular books to scholarly articles? How can I identify them within a library database or catalog?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (video, 3 mins.)
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (video, 5 mins.)
How are scholarly, academic articles structured? How does it differ from a popular magazine article? How can knowing the common structure of scholarly articles help to make sense of the authors' arguments and research process?