Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 186 Growing Up Female

MUSCAT Plus

MUSCAT Plus provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

*Always sign in. You'll see more results and be able to save your results to your account.

1. Library Catalog (MUSCAT): This search includes books, e-books, and media that are available in Musselman Library.

2. Everything: This search includes books, journal articles, media, and much more that are both in Musselman Library and beyond.

3. Find a Journal: If you already have a citation and want to see what full text holdings we have for a journal, magazine, or newspaper, search here by title.

4. A-Z Databases: If you want to search within a specific database, you can go here to get to the full list of databases.

5. Research Guides: From here you can get the full of list research guides, with specific suggestions for disciplines and individual classes.

Finding Articles

The library subscribes to more than 300 databases, and they all cover different disciplines or types of sources. To catch a little bit of everything, from scholarly journals to magazine articles, start in Proquest Central.

Starting Point - General Database

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Specific Magazines & Newspapers

The Atlantic Monthly
Also available in print on the main level of the library.
The New Yorker
Also available in print on the main level of the library.
New York Times
Have current access through several databases, including the NYTimes.com GroupPass (see box for sign up information).

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Access the Chronicle of Higher Education wherever you are with the Chronicle app or online by signing up for a free account using your @gettysburg.edu email address. Please contact the Research Help Desk if you have trouble.

Finding Visual Representation

Image Searches

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor’s collections and key functionality are now available on JSTOR. Explore Artstor’s collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Artstor’s diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere

Artsy
Contains 100,000+ artworks by 18,000+ artists from art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions.
Pixabay
Find photos that are freely available to use. Note, includes professional Shutterstock images in results for purchase.
Google Images
Searches the internet for images on millions of webpages. Google images is a great way to start your search for images as it allows you to quickly try a variety of search terms.

Magazines with Visual Content

Ebony
ELLEgirl
Available 2001-2007 via Google Magazines. May be helpful for mid-term creative project.
Health
Includes pdfs in the Health Source database, so a potential source for images.

First Year Seminars: FYS 186 Growing Up Female

Questions? Just Ask!

Sign up for the NYTimes.com Group Pass

New York Times

What When Who

MUSCAT Plus

Finding Articles

Finding Visual Representation