Research Guides: Reading Programs, Resources, and Communities: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Spring 2015)

Get This Book!

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: RC265.6.L24 S55 2010
ISBN: 1400052181

About Rebecca Skloot and the Lacks Family

Visit Rebecca Skloot's website

Visit the Lacks' family website

More Information on the Henrietta Lacks Foundation:

http://henriettalacksfoundation.org
New York Times article about the foundation

Reading Aids

Rebecca Skloot's website provides a host of material to augment your reading. From photos to videos to reading group guides (included below), explore to learn more!

Complete Reader's Guide
Includes information about the author, the Henrietta Lacks Foundation, and a conversation with Rebecca Skloot
Discussion Questions
Character List
Timeline of Events

Interviews with Rebecca Skloot

Video of HeLa Cells

Video of HeLa cells dividing in 1956 featured on the Special Features page of Rebecca Skloot's website

Search Our Databases for More Info on HeLa Cells

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to health and biology articles from over 4,800 biomedical journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier Science, 1993-present (years vary by journal title). Topics include Physical Sciences & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences & Humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources updated daily, 1900-present. Coverage is very strong for sciences, strong for social sciences, and growing for arts & humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Reading Programs, Resources, and Communities: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Spring 2015)

Book Reviews

Book Trailer