HIST 426 - Shannon - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Selected Titles from the Book Collection

This is a small selection of relevant series, document collections, and personal papers. Please get in touch as your topic develops for more focused recommendations.

Letters and Early Documents Related to Pennsylvania (1664-1902)

Pennsylvania Archives
- The print series is easier to use, but digital copies are available in our subscription to Ancestry.com (1664-1902). To access. click "search," then "card catalog," and search for Pennsylvania Archives.
- HathiTrust access
- Ancestry has a nice breakdown of the series on their site.
- Also searchable within Fold3.
Minutes of the Provincial Council of Pennsylvania
- HathiTrust access

Treaties and Other Documents

Iroquois Indians: A Documentary History (microfilm)
- Start with the guide and index to this document collection.
Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979
Benjamin Franklin, Pennsylvania, and the First Nations: The Treaties of 1736-62.

Early Documents Related to New York

Documentary History of the State of New York
- All 4 volumes are available on HathiTrust.org .
Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New York

A Selection of Personal Papers Series

Early Narratives

Pennsylvania Gazette (Facsimile Edition)

Pennsylvania Gazette (Reprint edition. Oversize - AP2.A2 U5)
Also available online in America's Historical Newspapers (1736-1775) and Accessible Archives (1728-1800) databases.

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Library Catalogs

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access collections digitized from libraries and research institutions around the world, as well as collections from digital projects like the Internet Archive. Full-text access is available for items in the public domain, including U.S. federal government documents, works published before 1923, and works still protected by copyright but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. The default search is a keyword search. Advanced search is available but you must re-check the "Full view only" option for full-text results.

To see have more options and see all results, sign in before searching.

Interdisciplinary

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

Interlibrary loan is a service that allows you to borrow materials unavailable at Musselman Library from other libraries around the world. Articles usually arrive in 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days.

Interlibrary loan is fully integrated into library databases via the Gett It button and MUSCAT Plus, the library catalog. You are able to make and manage requests through your library account in Muscat Plus.

Watch for the "Gett It" button in databases. Clicking it will check to see if we have the item in our collection and direct you to request a copy from another library if we don't.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library webpage.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

Primary Source Databases

Use these databases to identify primary source documents that relate to your topic. For additional resources, visit the Primary Sources Research Guide.

Early American Newspapers and Magazines

America's Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text images of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690-1922, including titles from all 50 states. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette.

American Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This collection from the American Antiquarian Society (parts I-VI) provides a history of the American people and the growth of the nation from the colonial period to the twentieth century. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented. Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.

Accessible Archives
Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals and Pennsylvania county histories (covers material from 1728-1900). The Pennsylvania Gazette will be of particular interest.
American Periodical Series (APS)
Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes periodicals that commenced publication between 1740-1900.

Digital Collections

Adam Matthew Collections

Adam Matthew Explorer This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Provides a large array of unique documents from multiple archives that captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Content covers the various colonial frontiers of North America plus the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.

Other Relevant Collections

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Provides full-text sources related to Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans from 1601-2003. Includes over 100,000 pages of material and 1,482 authors.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides full text resources about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, etc., with option to search all imprints, including two supplemental collections from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Consists of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons and pamphlets.
Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.

Public Online Collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Freely accessible web site of sources from the Library of Congress special collections that consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture.
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
Housed at Dickinson College, the digital collection contains student records, documents, images, and publications.
Colonial America
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.

Pennsylvania Native Americans Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains periodicals, both newspaper and magazine in format, from the United States Indian School in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, as well as Pennsylvania State documents and other digital versions of works on the Native American populations of Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
The Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is the gateway to the Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database.
Newspaper titles and holdings will continue to be added as they become available from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present.

History: HIST 426 - Shannon

Questions? Ask me!

The Long S

Other Archives/Libraries

Who What When