HIST 428 - Sanchez - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Primary Source Databases

The following databases include letter collections that may be of interest.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Contains personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to letters and diaries of over 1,325 North American women. Materials date from colonial times - 1950.

Finding Published Letter Collections

Searching the keywords letters OR correspondence in library catalogs can help retrieve various published letter collections. When searching MUSCAT Plus, limit to the "Library Catalog" to narrow results to see what is available in Musselman Library's collection.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
Search to see what materials we have in Musselman Library.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat to find published letter collections that we may not have in Musselman Library, and place an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow the materials from another library.

Finding Letter Collections in Special Collections

Search MUSCAT Plus and use the drop-down menu to search Special Collections. Using the keyword letters can help retrieve both printed monographs that include letter collections, as well as manuscript collections that contain letters.

To limit the search to manuscript collections in Special Collections, limit "Source Type" to "Collections."

GettDigital This link opens in a new window
Search the keyword "letters" in Gett Digital to see a snapshot of the various letter collections available in Special Collections.

Public Collections Online

Moving beyond our collections in Musselman Library, think about organizations that may collect letters related to your areas of interest. Here is a list of a few options, but if you have suggestions for this list, please email Meggan Smith.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Search for letters or correspondence.
National Archives Catalog
Search for letters or correspondence.

Topic Specific Collections

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

Interlibrary loan is a service that allows you to borrow materials unavailable at Musselman Library from other libraries around the world. Articles usually arrive in 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days.

Interlibrary loan is fully integrated into library databases via the Gett It button and MUSCAT Plus, the library catalog. You are able to make and manage requests through your library account in Muscat Plus.

Watch for the "Gett It" button in databases. Clicking it will check to see if we have the item in our collection and direct you to request a copy from another library if we don't.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library webpage.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

History: HIST 428 - Sanchez

Questions? Just Ask!

Who, what, and when?