Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 133-2 Latin American Women’s Narratives

Finding Resources

Getting started: General databases

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to approximately 250 journals published by 40 academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Getting specific: Subject databases

Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.

Citation Help

Citation and proper attribution of sources rest at the core of academic research. Musselman Library provides a Citation Guide to the major citation styles with links to helpful resources online. For this class you will be formatting your citations using the MLA Handbook.

MLA Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online MLA Handbook for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources according to the Modern Language Association defined style guide/format. This is the ninth edition, 2021 MLA Handbook.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
Copies available at the Research Help Desk on the main level of the library.

Adams County Public Library - Gettysburg

The Adams County Library is just a few blocks away from campus, located at 140 Baltimore Street.

Gettysburg College students can sign up for a library card in person. Please bring your College ID card, and know your campus box + home address.

First Year Seminars: FYS 133-2 Latin American Women’s Narratives

Historical Figures from Suggested Texts

Ask a Librarian

Who, What, When

Finding Resources

Getting started: General databases

Getting specific: Subject databases

Citation Help

Adams County Public Library - Gettysburg