Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 140 Why go to College?

Searching at Musselman Library

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Databases - A-Z
An A-Z listing of all library databases by name or type of database (newspapers, images, etc.)
Research Guides
Research guides to databases and other resources for each discipline at Gettysburg College

Finding Background Information

REFERENCE SOURCES are great for finding background information on your topic. Use these sources to find important factual information about events, political/social/historical context, biographical information, and more.

Don't forget to check out the bibliographies at the end of each entry! It's a great way to find additional books/articles on your topic.

Gale Reference eBooks
A cross-disciplinary database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Access the Chronicle of Higher Education wherever you are with the Chronicle app or online by signing up for a free account using your @gettysburg.edu email address. Please contact the Research Help Desk if you have trouble.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 3,500 journals and contains full-text for more than 1,900 journals and 550 books. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Early 20th century to present.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. 1923 – present.

Finding Articles

These databases will be good resources for finding scientific journal articles. Be sure to also check relevant subject guides for additional database suggestions.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to and many full text articles about business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting from 1985-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Citation Help

Citation and proper attribution of sources rest at the core of academic research. Musselman Library provides a Citation Guide to the major citation styles with links to helpful resources online.

For more information on citation, see our citation guide.