Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 152-5 Tinseltown

Library session 10/16

How have you evaluated sources in the past? For school? For general information?

Work in groups to share a few questions you think are helpful for evaluating sources for this assignment.

Share your questions on this padlet: bit.ly/fys_tinseltown

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals. Contains more than 160 full-text journals and over 160 full-text books. Access Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914. Includes more than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of art-related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more; contains over 750 full-text journals and 220 full-text books, plus an image collection of over 63,000 images (from Picture Desk and other sources). International in scope--includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Early 20th century to present.