Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 141-3 Crazy Enough?

Searching at Musselman Library

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Databases - A-Z
An A-Z listing of all library databases by name or type of database (newspapers, images, etc.)
Research Guides
Research guides to databases and other resources for each discipline at Gettysburg College

Finding Background Information

REFERENCE SOURCES are great for finding background information on your topic. Use these sources to find important factual information about events, political/social/historical context, biographical information, and more.

Don't forget to check out the bibliographies at the end of each entry! It's a great way to find additional books/articles on your topic.

Gale Reference eBooks
A cross-disciplinary database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.

Finding Articles

These databases will be good resources for finding scientific journal articles. Be sure to also check relevant subject guides for additional database suggestions.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources updated daily, 1900-present. Coverage is very strong for sciences, strong for social sciences, and growing for arts & humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Reading Scholarly Article Strategies

It is common to read a scientific article "out of order" (and to struggle with some of the terminology). You are not alone if you find this challenging - but you can get better at it with practice!

First Year Seminars: FYS 141-3 Crazy Enough?

How To Reach Me?

Citation Help

About This Guide

Searching at Musselman Library

Finding Background Information

Finding Articles

Reading Scholarly Article Strategies

It is common to read a scientific article "out of order" (and to struggle with some of the terminology). You are not alone if you find this challenging - but you can get better at it with practice!

Read responses from several scientists on "How to (seriously) read a scientific paper."